Search Archive Business Directory PUERTO-RICO

Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico Commonwealth of Puerto Rico Flag of Puerto Rico Coat of arms of Puerto Rico Flag Coat of arms Motto: Latin: Joannes Est Nomen Eius; Spanish: Juan es su nombre (English: "John is his name") Anthem: La Borinqueña Location of Puerto Rico Capital San Juan 18°29′N 66°8′W Largest city San Juan Official language(s) Spanish, English Government Commonwealth - Governor Aníbal Acevedo Vilá Independence None (U.S. territory with Commonwealth status) Area - Total 9,104 km² (Ranked) 3,514 sq mi - Water (%) 1.6 Population - July 2005 est. 3,912,054 (126th) - 2000 census 3,808,610 - Density 434/km² (Ranked(a)) 1,115/sq mi GDP (PPP) 2005 estimate - Total $72.37 billion (68th) - Per capita $18,500 (N/A) HDI (n/a) (not ranked) – Currency United States dollar (USD) Time zone AST (UTC-4) - Summer (DST) No DST (UTC-4) Internet TLD .pr Calling code +1-787 and +1-939 The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (Spanish: Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico, IPA [es tado libɾe asosi ado de pweɾto riko]), also Porto Rico (archaic), is a commonwealth of the United States located east of the Dominican Republic in the northeastern Caribbean. Puerto Rico, the smallest of the Greater Antilles, includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller islands and keys, including Mona, Vieques, and Culebra. The nature of Puerto Rico s political relationship with the United States is the subject of ongoing debate in the island. Those who support maintaining the status quo (i.e., Commonwealth status) insist that upon attaining this status, Puerto Rico entered into a voluntary association with the U.S. "in the nature of a compact", but opponents of Commonwealth disagree: according to them, Puerto Rico is no more than an unincorporated organized territory of the U.S., subject to the plenary powers of the United States Congress.